Thoroughbred Incentive Program July Youth Ambassador

Meet Isabella Wade!

Photo by Janet Wade

T.I.P. presents the July’s featured Youth Ambassador: Isabella Wade. Isabella, 16, is from Georgia. Isabella and her Thoroughbred, As You Wish (Wesley), participate in the Hunter discipline.

Isabella Wade (16,GA)


  • Registered Jockey Club Name: Forum
  • Show Name: As You Wish
  • Barn Name: Wesley

How did you start riding?
I started riding when I was six years old. I actually started off riding in a Western riding camp with a friend. I switched to English riding pretty quickly after that and started pursuing Hunters seriously when I was about 12 years old. I got Wesley when I was 14 years old.

What is your favorite thing about riding/or your horse?
I love working on the relationship between me and my horse. Even in shows where I don’t win, if the ride and performance of my horse was good, then I feel like a winner. When my horse and I give 110%, the pride of having a solid relationship outweighs any ribbon.

What would you like to do when you are older?
I want to be an engineer when I am older. However, I fully intend on continuing to ride and show.

Tell us your favorite quote and why:
My favorite quote is “Great works are performed not by strength but by perseverance” by Samuel Johnson because I believe that if you work hard enough and smart enough for long enough, then nothing is impossible.

What do you think the most important aspects of horsemanship are?
I think that the most important aspects of horsemanship are passion, responsibility and perseverance. Passion and perseverance are the only things you need to improve. Responsibility is key because another emotionally complex being is now under your care.

More Fun Facts

  • How many pets do you have (and what kind)?
    I have four dogs, two cats, one pig and three other ponies. The ponies are an Arabian and a Welsh-Thoroughbred cross. Also, my father works about 50 cattle. It’s a busy farm!
  • What is your favorite animal (apart from a horse)?
    My favorite animal (besides a horse) is a dog.
  • What is your favorite color?
    My favorite color is dark blue.
  • What is your favorite food?
    My favorite food is spaghetti. I think I could eat it every night for a year and still love spaghetti.
  • What is something unique about you?
    I was adopted from China when I was a baby.
  • What is one word that your friends would describe you as?
    One word that my friends would describe me as is kind.
  • Other Activities or hobbies:
    Technology Student Association, Mock Trial, C-1 Pony Club, Diversity Council

What is one thing you would like to tell people about Thoroughbreds or the Thoroughbred Incentive Program?
One thing I would tell people about Thoroughbreds is that they have an astounding amount of grit and compassion. I would point out how Thoroughbreds are successful in an array of disciplines. I would like to tell people about how the Thoroughbred Incentive Program helps Thoroughbreds have lives and careers after the track.

What are your goals for your horse in 2020?
My goals for me and my horse in 2020 are to adjust to living at the new farm and to show consistently in the Chattanooga area.