‘Triple Crown Dream Is Still Alive’: 2014 Preakness Replay

California Chrome couldn’t be stopped in today’s Preakness Stakes, making him 2-for-2 toward becoming the first Triple Crown winner since Affirmed in 1978.

Horse Nation’s racing editor Heather Benson has been waving the banner for this horse for months, having become a fan herself after watching him absolutely obliterate the field in the California Cup Derby in January. After researching and writing about his humble back story, her enchantment with him only grew. A summary of his tale, as the AP Press put it: “A horse with a humble pedigree. A couple of working stiff owners. A 77-year-old trainer with his first Kentucky Derby horse. Even Hollywood couldn’t have made this up.”

As Heather said before the Derby, “Racing desperately needs his story right now, it is storybook perfect,” she explained. “EVERYBODY wins if he wins.”

His winning streak continues!


[Via The Bleacher Report]

Ride On Curlin placed and Social Inclusion showed.




Here’s the video:

Can California Chrome make the history books?  There have been 11 Triple Crown winners: Sir Barton (1919; Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935); War Admiral (1937); Whirlaway (1941); Count Fleet (1943); Asault (1946); Citation (1948); Secretariat (1973); Seattle Slew (1977) and Affirmed (1978). Since Affirmed, 12 horses have won the Derby and the Preakness but lost the Belmont: The dozen who missed since 1978: I’ll Have Another (2012); Big Brown (2008); Smarty Jones (2004); Funny Cide (2003); War Emblem (2002); Charismatic (1999); Real Quiet (1998); Silver Charm (1997); Sunday Silence (1989); Alysheba (1987); Pleasant Colony (1981) and Spectacular Bid (1979).

The Belmont Stakes takes place on June 7 in New York. Go get ’em, California Chrome !


Leave a Comment


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *